Daily Prompt: Morality Play (Satire)

Morality Play

Was I the only one who didn’t throw a hissy fit when they shot Nancy Clutter? Morality schmorality. I’ve got morals–in my home, my casa, my cave-from way back in the day. That’s where I live, in case you were wondering…in a cave in some unheard of cosmopolitan town. Just kidding. (About my metropolis. Not about the cave.)

I get up each morning. I don’t brush my teeth. Instead I charge a pack of buffalo. Just so there’s food on the table. Everybody’s gotta eat.

Some say my life is simple. Some say I need a computer, a phone, a blog, a WordPress even! I tell them to shut up. Why? Why do I blast their eardrums with such “obscenities?” I’d say I’m nostalgic, nostalgic for the past when life was simple, only it’s too hard to remember, to remember a day without men in business ties and women sipping milkified iced coffees on 5th Avenue.

Nancy was a good girl–intelligent, kind, amiable…the kind of personality that could light up a room…

Good for her!

Sometimes when I sit here in the darkness of my prehistoric cave, I worry. I worry that the stars aren’t telling me what time is the right time. Was that scene with the counting and the stars and the spirituality in The Lion King really true? I worry that people are changing. They are developing this new- age phenomenon. I can’t put my finger on it. It’s this weird “over the top” thing. You’ve probably seen it in a poster or two, where there are two hands shaking. One is the helping hand. The other’s just the hand.

We also invented this thing called philanthropy over the years. Many people have taken a page out of this book. Andrew Carnegie. Bill Gates. The list goes on!

I don’t like these people. I don’t believe in morals, and neither should you. Cheers to a life without morality. Toast to freedom from compassion. L’chaim to liberation from empathy. No more “Volunteer at the nursing home.” Away with “Race for Race for the Cure.”

Why? Cause morality’s for modernity and I’m stuck in this cave.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Morality Play (Satire)

  1. This is indeed a very deep post and I have to give it some thought. First, well, let me put it like this:

    Compassion be black, Compassion be white, Compassion be good On the reservation or in the hood! Mike Rogers | Vice Chairman Dentsu America 32 Avenue of the Americas | New York, New York 10013 USA mike.rogers@dentsuamerica.com p:212.261.4295| f: + 1.212.710.1504|

    From: A Day in the Life <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: A Day in the Life <comment+7g8ak0jzd27gsj_qoxh6ll@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Monday, June 24, 2013 2:25 PM To: Dentsu <mike.rogers@dentsuamerica.com> Subject: [New post] Daily Prompt: Morality Play (Satire)

    rasegal posted: “Was I the only one who didn’t throw a hissy fit when they shot Nancy Clutter? Morality schmorality. I’ve got morals–in my home, my casa, my cave-from way back in the day. That’s where I live, in case you were wondering…in a cave in some unheard of cosm”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

