Siempre

Daily Prompt: No Longer a Mere Mortal

I read Tuck Everlasting too long ago for me to remember anything substantial, apart from the Fountain of Youth, immortality, and a cool author’s name like Natalie Babbitt.

If I’m gonna live forever, I gotta set some rules straight, clarify some complications, exert my presence, etc., etc. First, I’m not going to care what people think in the slightest because they’re all going to die. Sad? It’s the truth.

Second (and this one I’m still debating), I’m not going to form any personal attachments. If all your friends are going to be goners one day, then why stay so close? But then again, isn’t that always the case? But if I were a mortal, I would have less time to mope around all day and feel sorry for myself because I would die eventually.

It’s not very clear-cut. It’s not very philosophical, that is, my response. It’s not something I ponder about. I don’t think about potions. I don’t think about magic. I think about today and tomorrow and my trip to Mexico and I think I lost my iPod.

5 thoughts on “Siempre

  1. Pingback: No Longer a Mere Mortal: Almost Immortal – Bhishma’s Tale | Khana's Web

  2. Pingback: I’m On Medication And Can’t Come Up With A Title For This Prompt | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: No Longer a Mortal | mycookinglifebypatty

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

