Smile Though Your Heart is Aching

Daily Prompt: Tables Turned

So I spent an entire unit in my high school English class discussing photography?

So I think I know what I’m doing.

(And then they all stopped reading.)

That was a joke.

I’m not sure if this is something we can just process organically or if personal experiences are also required to shed light on the situation of our own photographs initiating discomfort.

That is why I’m not going to spend hours dissecting the conversations of an “AP class.” That is why I’m not going to pinpoint the particular essays or authors’ names that we studied. Also, I’m done with high school. Why linger?

I can’t count the number of times I’ve been uncomfortable. It’s more like a daily thing.

Yes cameras do make me uncomfortable. I can never smile properly. You’d think that a girl with a dimple on her left cheek would have this down, right? You’d think she’d be able to smile in no time every time. Not me.

When I took my senior pic, it was after millions of attempts that I finally smiled. I tried. I’m not sure what was going on. Maybe I was over-thinking it.

In today’s culture, we’re expected to be comfortable with the way we look no matter what we’re doing or where we’re going, because we’re always being uploaded. After we’re uploaded, we’re liked, rated, critiqued, or deflated. Or some combination.

Then we see the media and it tells us that we shouldn’t be ugly.

But we’re always exposed.

So you see, it’s a contradiction: We must always put ourselves out there. But when we do, we must shield ourselves from our peers’ demoralization. And it’s not necessarily their fault. It’s societal demands.

So next time you study photography in AP English…think of me?

No, that sounds desperate.

What I’m trying to say is, the media and societal expectations make us uncomfortable. Think about me and my dimple and my discomfort. Would I ever upload a picture of me with a frown on my face?

It depends. Was it posed or real?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Smile Though Your Heart is Aching

  1. Pingback: Tables Turned: Uncomfortable | Khana's Web

  2. Pingback: Tables Turned | bheehappy

  3. Pingback: A terrible make up session | Vivir, que no es poco

  4. Pingback: Why Do Writers Write And Photographers Photograph? | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Members and Mayhem…Kinda… | The Arkside of Thought by Sahm King

  6. Pingback: Two for Tuesday | Tommia's Tablet

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

