A Rolling Stone Gathers No Moss

Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone

Before I begin this blog post, it’s  necessary to pay tribute to either the “Like a Rolling Stone” guy or The Rolling Stones themselves, considering that the prompt is about being a rolling stone. The problem with choosing The Rolling Stones is that I don’t know which song to pick. They’re all “out there.” So why not be inspired by some Dylan for a change?

 

How does it feel
How does it feel
To be without a home
Like a complete unknown
Like a rolling stone?

-Bob Dylan, “Like a Rolling Stone”

Now time for the less famous to have a word…the blogger.

I wouldn’t be a nomad if I had the choice. I can speak from experience and I can speak from books. I can speak from life in a small town shtetl, and I can speak from having read In Cold Blood.

Now there is some room for grey areas and differences. Hopefully if I’m a nomad, it won’t be because I’m dodging the bullet. Or, in the case of In Cold Blood, being hanged. But that’s another story and I never specified whether my blog was G-rated or PG-13 and I don’t want to get in trouble so I’ll finish this sentence.

I probably wouldn’t make an all-star nomad.

 

I like the little things.

For example, I wake up and do a blog post a day. I read the local paper, and on Sundays The New York Times. If I’m in the mood. I play a little flute, read another book…or attempt to, and repeat. It may sound boring, and yes, there are variations to each day’s schedule. There are fluctuations. Not every day is “perfect.” Some nights I have sleepovers. Other nights we go out for pizza. I’d prefer Indian but you gotta accommodate.

I like the way things are. While I do like to travel every now and then, I don’t think rooming in the good side of D.C. or shopping at the Tudor-style Walgreens in Brookline qualifies as nomadism.

 

So I think I’ll stay here and gather some moss.

9 thoughts on “A Rolling Stone Gathers No Moss

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: No Rolling Stone Here | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: Life from an RV (Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone) | Mike, In Transition

  3. Pingback: Rolling Stone: Nomad, Traveler or Both | Khana's Web

  4. Pingback: Sailing and leaving Pamplona | Vivir, que no es poco

  5. I like the fact that this blogger is a good speller and has good grammar.

    I have to say that I think Cold Blood is a scary book and scary movie.

  6. I like the little tings, too. And I like routine as well. I like the routine of waking early and going to the gum early before work. It’s a crazy routine as routines go, but I like it.

  7. Pingback: Adventures in Paradise | The Jittery Goat

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

